Reviews

8.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
8.9
Property location
7.4
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.2
Value
8.2

Reviews

    Darren
    my

    Review score

    6.7
    21 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Karl
    jp

    Review score

    6.7
    10 May 2018

    An interesting cultural experience

    The biggest problem for us was that the hotel didn't really cater for kids. We travelled with a 1-year-old and a 3-year-old and where other hotels generally have things like a crib, high chairs and kids menus, this hotel had none of that. The breakfast was exactly the same both days and we were just given extra bowls for the kids in which we put things from our plates. I guess a lot of kids would have trouble stomaching a lot of the breakfast food on offer. The room we stayed in was very small. Just enough space for 3 futons on the floor and a small area with a table and 2 chairs. The kitchen and bathroom sink were in the same small space and the room had no shower at all. The toilet was clean and had a washlet. We had quite a lot of trouble sleeping due to the lack of a crib. the baby kept crawling or rolling off the futon and waking up and crying. I wouldn't recommend taking babies or young children here.
    Sanseikan is located about 15 minutes drive away from the centre of the Noboribetsu hotel and onsen district. They may have a bus there (I'm not sure) but I'd definitely recommend going there by car. There are no shops or convenience stores in the area. The area was nice and quiet and there are a few hotels running in the area with a few others falling into disrepair. There's a park/ green space across the road from Sanseikan with a river, bridges and benches for sitting on, but not really enough space to kick a ball about. We went for a walk around that area and found some interesting relics from the Japan boom years. A huge empty swimming pool; cracked and long unused, piles of wood covered in moss that were clearly once buildings and other structures and houses with rooves caving in and walls peeling off. The mood of the area is nostalgic and eerie. The staff at Sanseikan were extremely friendly and helpful, but they do tend to hover around a lot which made us feel a bit uncomfortable. I think this is more just Japanese culture than anything else but we felt like they were waiting for us and we should hurry. The facilities are old but well kept and comfortable enough. The hotel has its own onsen which was the biggest highlight! The onsen has 2 showers, 2 indoor pools and a beautiful outdoor pool which is surrounded by trees and rocks. Of course, men and women's onsens are separate and they are public baths, not pools with swimwear. The included breakfast is big and contains all sorts of Japanese food such as rice, natto, salmon, various pickled vegetables, miso soup and a lot more. It's a good breakfast, but very Japanese taste.
    Charlotte
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    9 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wolfram
    de

    Review score

    9.6
    9 May 2018
    Important to know, it closes at 9pm.
    Extremely friendly ryokan, great food, nice onsen.
    Poh Hui
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    8 May 2018
    The owners were extremely hospitable and the food for breakfast and dinner was amazing. We had a really relaxing time at the onsen and were really well taken care of. We would highly recommend this place to others visiting the area.
    Jason Choi
    sg

    Review score

    10
    27 April 2018

    Best place to relax

    Natural
    Clean n friendly staff
    Vickie
    my

    Review score

    7.9
    4 April 2018
    Beds (futons) were made up when we arrived. Expected it to be done during dinner so that before dinner, at least we have space to sit (other than on futons) and chit chat.
    Very good dinner and breakfast spread! Staffs were so friendly and smiley making our stay totally pleasant. There is a nice little park just across the road. Very picturesque.
    Waichiu
    hk

    Review score

    10
    19 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    MIN A
    kr

    Review score

    8.8
    19 February 2018
    It was a good place to relax in quiet. (Because of my schedule) I stayed just 1day. But I just wanted to stayed a little longer. Maybe, If you want to feel the taste of traditional japanese ryokan, this place is so good. A simple and quiet, friendly atmosphere made me feel at ease. Neat and delicious home-style dinner and breakfast, open-air hot spring bath with snow, friendly staff is impressive. Thank you for the delicate kindness that get rid of snow piled up all night in our car. I will eat green tea well. Someday I would like to go to summer. ^^ Thank you for your hospitality.
    GIYOUNG
    kr

    Review score

    5.4
    19 February 2018
    far from station.
    outdoor hot spring was gerat.
    Minghui
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 February 2018

    Very friendly staff. Amazing onsen&Original Japanese lifestyle.Highly recommended.

    Candy
    hk

    Review score

    7.5
    12 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chia-Ling
    tw

    Review score

    10
    11 February 2018

    kindly host delicious food nice hot spring. very comfortable and warm place. love it!!!

    wenlei
    cn

    Review score

    8.8
    8 February 2018

    comfortable place with nice view hot spring

    Xinyuan
    hk

    Review score

    7.5
    16 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yee Ming
    sg

    Review score

    10
    19 December 2017

    Loved the authentic experience!

    Nothing
    The authentic Japanese bedrooms and onsen
    sg

    Review score

    7.1
    11 June 2018
    The location is far from the downtown, about 8 km away. Staff is not friendly especially to the kids. Generally very blunt, tend to be rude, not sure whether it’s because English problem. Went to similar ryokan in Fuji Kawaguchiko and the staff here was not friendly at all.
    The bed was amazing especially the linen and the pillow! Didn’t expect that futton bed and beans pillow are much better than good quality spring bed. Breakfast was good and the outdoor hot spring was wonderful.
    Sienna
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    3 April 2018
    Very friendly staff. Awesome outdoor onsen (rotemburo)! Stay here instead of the high rise hotels in Noboribetsu...it's so cozy, clean & quiet!
    Nitinai
    th

    Review score

    9.2
    6 March 2018

    Relaxing onsen and delicious Japanese food

    The location is quite far. No public transport go there. There’s a shuttle bus between train station and the hotel. But leaving time is a bit too early.
    Price is reasonable. The room is quite spacious. The hotel is nice and quiet. Onsen is superb. Dinner was nabe hot pot. It was great and a lot. Public bath is grwat.
    cn

    Review score

    10
    15 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews